Tournament of Roses Grand Marshal History

Pasadena Tournament of Roses

Every Parade needs a Grand Marshal, and the Rose Parade has had some of the world's most distinguished individuals serving in that honored position. Past Grand Marshals have included actors, astronauts, writers, artists, athletes and political figures.
Early Grand Marshals were local heroes, many of them Tournament organizers. The first Grand Marshal from outside Pasadena was San Francisco Mayor James Rolph in 1930, and as the Tournament grew, so did the stature of its Grand Marshals. Mary Pickford, Earl Warren, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Gregory Peck, Bob Hope, Erma Bombeck, Henry "Hank" Aaron, the Apollo 12 astronauts, John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Kate Smith, Gerald Ford, Lee Iaccoca, James Stewart, Pele and Angela Lansbury are just a few of the distinguished individuals who have held the honored position. 1966 Grand Marshal Walt Disney rode in the Parade with Mickey Mouse, and Edgar Bergen brought Charlie McCarthy along in 1940. Shirley Temple, who was a 10-year old movie star when she led the 50th Rose Parade returned as diplomat Shirley Temple Black to serve as Grand Marshal of the Tournament's Centennial celebration in 1989.
2013    Dr. Jane Goodall
2012    J.R. Martinez
2011    Paula Dean
2010    Captain Chesley Sullenberger III
2009    Cloris Leachman
2008    Emeril Lagasse
2007    George Lucas
2006    United States Supreme Court Justice
           Sandra Day O’Connor
2005    Mickey Mouse
2004    John Williams
2003    Bill Cosby
           Art Linkletter
           Fred Rogers
2002    Regis Philbin
2001    Tom Brokaw
2000    Roy E. Disney
1999    Buzz Aldrin
           Shirley Temple Black
           Jackie Robinson (posthumously)
           David L. Wolper
1998    Carol Burnett
1997    Carl Lewis & Shannon Miller
1996    Kermit the Frog
1995    Juan "Chi Chi" Rodriguez
1994    William Shatner
1993    Angela Lansbury
1992    His Grace, Cristobol Colon & Congressman Ben Nighthorse Campbell
1991    Bob Newhart
1990    Senator John Glenn
1989    Shirley Temple Black
1988    Gregory Peck
1987    Pele
1986    Erma Bombeck
1985    Lee A. Iacocca
1984    Danny Kaye
1983    Merlin Olsen
1982    Jimmy Stewart
1981    Lorne Greene
1980    Frank Sinatra
1979    Lathrop K. Leishman
1978    Gerald R. Ford
1977    Roy Rogers & Dale Evans
1976    Kate Smith
1975    Henry L. "Hank" Aaron
1974    Charles M. Schulz
1973    John Wayne
1972    Lawrence Welk
1971    Reverend Billy Graham
1970    Apollo 12 Astronauts
           Alan L. Bean
           Charles Conrad, Jr.
           Richard F. Gordon, Jr.
1969    Bob Hope
1968    Everett Dirksen
1967    Thanat Khoman
1966    Walt Disney
1965    Arnold Palmer
1964    Dwight D. Eisenhower
1963    Dr. William H. Pickering
1962    Albert D. Rosellini
1961    William F. Quinn
1960    Richard M. Nixon
1959    E. L. "Bob" Bartlett
1958    Robert Gordon Sproul
1957    Eddie Rickenbacker
1956    Charles E. Wilson
1955    Earl Warren
1954    General William F. Dean
1953    Richard M. Nixon
1952    Medal of Honor Men
           Maj. Carl Sitter
           Capt. Lewis Millet
           Lt. Stanley Adams
           Lt. Thomas Hudner
           Capt. Raymond Harvey
           Sgt. Ernest Kouma
           Sgt. Joseph Rodriguez
1951    Cpl. Robert S. Gray
           (For Gen. Eisenhower)
1950    Paul G. Hoffman
1949    Perry Brown
1948    Gen. Omar Bradley
1947    Bob Hope
1946    Adm. William Halsey
1945    Herbert Hoover
1944    Amos Alonzo Stagg
1943    Earl Warren
1942    Kay Kyser
1941    E. O. Nay
1940    Edgar Bergen & Charlie McCarthy
1939    Shirley Temple
1938    Leo Carillo
1937    Eugene Biscailuz
1936    James V. Alfred
1935    Harold Lloyd
1934    Adm. William S. Sims
1933    Mary Pickford
1932    William May Garland
1931    Gen. C. S. Farnsworth
1930    James Rolph
1929    Marco Hellman
1928    John McDonald
1927    Dr. C.D. Lockwood
1926    Col. L. J. Mygatt
1925    Lewis H. Turner
1924    Col. George S. Parker
1923    H.L. Gianetti
1922    Harold Landreth
1921    W. A. Boucher
1920    Frank G. Hogan
1919    Frank Hunter
1918    Dr. Z. T. Malaby
1917    Dr. C. D. Lockwood
1916    Dr. Francis F. Rowland
1915    M. S. Pashgian
1914    Charles Daggett
1913    Leigh Guyer
1912    E. H. Groenendyke
1911    Dr. Ralph Skillen
1910    Dr. Francis F. Rowland & Prof. Charles F. Holder
1909    Walter S. Wright
1907 & 1908    Dr. Ralph Skillen
1906    John B. Miller
1904 & 1905    Dr. Francis F. Rowland
1902 & 1903    C. C. Reynolds
1900 & 1901    Charles Daggett
1898 & 1899    Martin H. Weight
1896 & 1897    Edwin Stearns
1895    Dr. H. H. Sherk
1894    Dr. Francis F. Rowland
1893    No Grand Marshal
1892    Dr. Francis F. Rowland
1891    No Grand Marshal
1890    Dr. Francis F. Rowland